skip to main content


The 10th International Conference on Scour and Erosion will be held virtually October 18–21, 2021.

ICSE-10 will mark the tenth offering of the International Conference on Scour and Erosion. Conceived as a conference to bring researchers and practitioners from Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering together to tackle the complex challenges of scour and erosion, this conference has strived to encourage interdisciplinary collaboration between these two and other related disciplines. Topics on surface and subsurface erosion of soil and bedrock will be organized into tracks to emphasize interdisciplinary approaches to engineering, research, monitoring, mitigation, and risk assessment. Short courses will be designed to expand participant’s breadth of knowledge on the interdisciplinary aspects of scour and erosion.

Conference Committee

  • Chair: Ming Xiao, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE, Pennsylvania State University
  • Co-Chair: Peggy Johnson, Ph.D., F.EWRI, M.ASCE, Pennsylvania State University
  • Technical Committee Chair: John Rice, Ph.D., Utah State University
  • Technical Committee Vice-Chair: Xiaofeng Liu, P.E., M.ASCE, Pennsylvania State University
  • Publications Co-Chairs and Co-Editors:
    • John Rice, Ph.D., Utah State University
    • Martin McIlroy, P.E., M.ASCE, MGE Engineering
    • Inthuorn Sasanakul, P.E., M.ASCE, University of South Carolina
    • Sai Kakuturu, Ph.D., P.E., Pennsylvania State University
  • Local Committee Co-Chairs:
    • Jennifer Nicks, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE, FHWA
    • Martin McIlroy, P.E., M.ASCE, MGE Engineering
  • Sponsorship & Exhibits Co-Chairs:
    • Hande Gerkus, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE, Freese and Nichols, Inc
    • Ming Zhu, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE, Watershed Geosynthetic
  • Special Consultants:
    • Catherine Avila, P.E., D.WRE, M.ASCE, Avila and Associates
    • Beatrice Hunt, P.E., M.ASCE, AECOM
    • Jean-Louis Briaud, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, Dist.M.ASCE, Texas A&M University

ICSE-10 International Scientific Committee:

  • George Annandale (USA)
  • Catherine Avila (USA, ICSE-5 Chair)
  • Erik Bollaert (Switzerland)
  • Rod Bridle (UK)
  • Jean-Louis Briaud (USA, ICSE-1 Chair)
  • Liang Cheng (Australia, ICSE-7 Chair)
  • Christophe Chevalier (France, ICSE-6 co-Chair)
  • Yee Meng Chiew (Singapore, ICSE-2 Chair)
  • Scott Draper (Australia, ICSE-7 Chair)
  • Robin Fell (Australia)
  • Jean-Jacques Fry (France, ICSE-6 Chair)
  • John Harris (UK, ICSE-8 co-Chair)
  • Gijs Hoffmans (Netherlands, ICSE-3 Chair)
  • Beatrice Hunt (ICSE-5 co-Chair)
  • Jan Kayser (Germany)
  • Bruce Melville (New Zealand)
  • Antonio Miglio (Italy)
  • Catherine O'Sullivan (UK)
  • Esther Rosenbrand (Netherlands)
  • Shinji Sassa (Japan, TC-213 Chair)
  • Hideo Sekiguchi (ICSE-4 Chair)
  • Mutlu Sumer (Turkey)
  • Richard Whitehouse (UK, ICSE-8 co-Chair)

ICSE-10 National Scientific Committee:

  • Ningjun Jiang
  • Stacey Kulesza
  • Yong Lai
  • Thanos Papanicolaou
  • Bryant Robbins
  • Nina Stark
  • Junliang Tao

The Geo-Institute of ASCE

Created by ASCE in October 1996, the Geo-Institute (G-I) combines the talents and perspectives of its members to promote the Geotechnical profession and enhance career development through specialty conferences, journals and practice-oriented publications, educational programs, networking and coalition building, technical committees and task forces and leadership on emerging issues. The 12,100 members and 63 organizational members of G-I include scientists, engineers, technologists, and organizations interested in improving the environment, mitigating natural hazards, and constructing economically engineered facilities.


COVID-19 Update

After much consideration, we've made the difficult decision to postpone 10th International Conference on Scour and Erosion (ICSE) until October 18-21 2021 and to shift it to a virtual format. We take the safety and health of our attendees, staff and community seriously and feel this is the best course of action.

Please continue to check this webpage for updates. For the impact of the coronavirus on other ASCE events, please visit

jump to top